Accessing Grade by Student for an assignment

From My Classes, click on the class's name where the assignment is held, then click on the assignment you want to grade.

Alternatively, next to each assignment is a set of three blue dots. Click on these dots and select "Grade by Student" to also be taken to the Scores page.

You'll see the Scores view:

Score: You can see each student's score so far. These scores could be from automatically graded MC questions or questions graded by the instructor.

Last Change By: The Last Change By column shows who made the last change to this activity. When the instructor assigns the activity, the status is set to No Change for all students. Once the student saves their work for the first time, the column changes to Student. Any comments or grades left by the teacher will change this to Instructor.

Student Updated At: This shows the time of the last edit made by a student. It's a great way to keep track of late work.

Status: What is the current status of the student's work? The Status will show one of the following:

  • Not started - the student hasn't yet opened and begun work on the assignment.

  • In Progress - the student has started working but hasn't yet submitted their work for grading.

  • Submitted - the student has submitted their work for grading.

After the student has submitted their work, you have several options for the Status of that work:

  • Submitted - the student has submitted their work for grading. They are unable to make any changes to their work.

  • Feedback/Revision - the student will see any comments and scores you've entered, and they will be able to modify their work.

  • Graded - You have graded the assignment and are communicating to the student that grading is complete. They are unable to make any changes to their work.

Actions: To see this student's responses on this activity (as of their last save), click Grade Student Response or click on the student's name.

Grading and Feedback.

When you open a student's responses, you can see exactly what they entered for all questions. This view shows their last save; if they are actively working, refresh the page to see their work's latest version.

You can comment on their work, enter scores, or both.

  1. To go back to the Scores view, click the "Go Back to Scores View." This will take you back to the score list previously shown.

  2. To move between student responses, select one of the arrow responses.

  3. Want to see the Instructor Notes while grade? Click "Hide Full Notes" to remove the notes or "Show Full Notes" to show the instructor notes.

  4. Once the student submits the assignment OR the instructor closes the assignment, you will have the ability to set a grading status for the activity. (See below)

  5. To save any edits you have made, click "Save Progress." This does not happen automatically, so it's important to save it before you close the page.

  6. The student's answer will appear above the score.

  7. You can enter a score, up to the maximum points, in the score box. This score will automatically update the assignment's total score and will be communicated to your LMS (if you have an integration) as soon as you save your work.

  8. Any comments or feedback you wish to leave for the students can be done in the "Comments" box. These go live to the students as soon as you save your work.

Clicking on the Grading Status box will give you several options.

  1. Pending Grade - sets the Status of the assignment to Submitted. The student will be able to see their work and your comments but cannot make any changes.

  2. Final Grade - sets the Status of the assignment to Final Grade. The student will be able to see their work and your comments but cannot make any changes. If you've integrated Pivot Interactives with an LMS such as Canvas or Blackboard, this will also initiate the sending of scores to that platform.

  3. Request Revision - sets the Status of the assignment to Request Revision. The student will be able to see their work and your comments and make changes to their work.

When you are finished providing feedback, you'll need to save your work.

Did this answer your question?